top of page

A Chocolatey Father's Day

First and foremost, HAPPY FATHER'S DAY to my baby daddy; fiancée; best friend. Our son is so lucky to have you as his Dad, and I am so excited to see what our future brings and the love and joy that will continue to grow as our son does.


Second, Happy Father's Day to my Dad, who is one of the strongest and most inspiring people I know. He overcame an alcohol addiction to be a great Dad, and fantastic Grandpa to my little man. He has shown so much strength, and tolerance, and patience, and has taught me the importance of family and fighting for your loved ones.


Third, a Happy Father's Day to all Dad's out there, and to all the Mom's who were both. Whether you have children of your own, adopted children, step-children, or children that you love as much as your own - Father's day is for you too! Thank you for stepping up and being the best parents you can be.



I used to always buy extravagant gifts on fathers day - mostly tools ($$$) - but this was way before living on my own, paying my own bills, and far before having my own son. This year I gathered some inspiration off the internet and put together a "Chocolate Novel" for my Dad.

This was super easy; super quick; and cheap. I also got such a great reaction from it.

I started by visiting my local dollar-store. I picked up some chocolate bars that I normally don't see in grocery or convivence stores - I found a "Titan," and a "4 FUN," that I thought would work perfect.

Then I moved on to writing the note (which was probably the hardest part). It started to rhyme, so then wanted to continue the rhyme (which hurt my brain). Then it seemed too long, and then too short. I could have spent hours on just this part, but I had to wrap it up.

I took my note to the grocery store to pick up the rest of my chocolate.

I was originally going to use a sheet of poster board but I came across a box in our house where each side fit a sheet of paper perfectly, so I decided to use this instead. I wrote out my note and taped my chocolate in the appropriate places as I went. I made sure to use various colors and writing styles to give it some character. I dismantled the box and glued each page onto a piece of cardboard. For the last page, I left the sides of the box attached so I could fold those up and tie the "novel" with a string.


My Dad absolutely loved it - so did the rest of the family. He got such a good chuckle and then proceeded to say how "we need to film this because it would definitely go viral!"










3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page